In Nevada, parental child support obligations are governed by Chapter 125B of the Nevada Revised Statutes. All parents have a duty to provide their children with necessary maintenance, health care, education and support, regardless of marital status. The duty of support continues until a child is 18 years old, or until a child is 19 years old if the child is still attending high school. A parent’s obligations to support a child may extend indefinitely for a “handicapped” child.
How Child Support is Formulated in Nevada
Nevada’s child support formula is set forth in NRS 125B.070. Pursuant to statute, a parent’s child support obligation is the percent of his or her gross monthly income, calculated as follows:
One child: 18% of the non-custodial parent’s gross monthly income;
Two children: 25% of the non-custodial parent’s gross monthly income;
Three children: 29% of the non-custodial parent’s gross monthly income;
Four children: 31% of the non-custodial parent’s gross monthly income;
Each additional child: an additional 2%of the non-custodial parent’s gross monthly income.
Variations to Child Support Formulation
However, the presumptive maximum amount of the child support varies in accordance with the obligor’s (non-custodial parent’s) gross monthly income. NRS 125B.080 also outlines factors a Court shall consider when adjusting the amount of child support.
When parties share joint physical custody of a child, child support is established pursuant to the Wright v. Osborn and Wesley v. Foster cases.
The Cooley Law Firm will explain how child support is calculated in the State of Nevada so that you understand likely outcomes in Court. The Cooley Law Firm can also help you modify child support orders in certain circumstances. If you would like to further discuss child support, contact The Cooley Law Firm at (702) 265-4505 to schedule a consultation